Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-31 - 10:18 p.m.

Another Brick in the Wall

July 28/Wednesday

The coffee-nazi is away so I have to get up at 7:25 to be sure that the coffee is outside for the guys by 7:30. This is the law of the Coffee-nazi. It must be followed. (Coffee-nazi and Dumpster-nazi are one and the same.) Apparently in Coffee-naziland there will be no work done if there is no coffee offered. Never mind the fact that the guys all live about an hour away so they probably stopped for coffee on the way. We better not go on vacation, the work might stop.

At around 7:20 I hear a very loud old car in front of the house. I assumed that it was ol' Mr. Smith across the street with one of his clunkers, or the guy two houses down from him who has an old fashioned truck that he decided to (loudly) tune up early Sunday morning, or maybe the surfer-dudes on the other side of Mr. Smith's, nah, way to early for them. But, no, none of that, it was the first guy (Paul, a new guy, who apparently is just back from Hawaii) on the job and, heaven forbid, the coffee isn't out yet!! (It was OK, he brought his own, but just image the predicament I'd be in if he hadn't.)

In short time there are 5 guys here and JD stops by for a bit. Work ensues.

. . .

Everyone is gone by 2. Apparently they ran out of a certain part for the Lego wall. The lumber company sent the wrong parts, I guess, cuz there's still a bunch of unused Legos in the yard. I hope they take them back! Matt said they will be back to finish the wall tomorrow and it will be poured on Friday.

The wall day 2. X marks the spot! (I'm not sure why, but there it is.)

. . .

By the way, they thanked me for the coffee and they drank it all, so I guess the Coffee-nazi is avenged. Damn! (And he won't be back until Friday night, so I will be up, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, preparing coffee at 7:15 for the rest of the week. Yes, I'm using the automatic timer, but it won't pour itself into a carafe and walk itself and the cream and sugar and cups out to the "designated coffee zone.")

. . .

July 29/Thursday

I woke up at 7:59 - oops! BUT, had there been anyone here to work I would have heard them and been up earlier. I wish I had stayed in bed but I had to up for when they came . . . at ONE THIRTY IN THE AFTERNOON! OK, not really a problem. JD called to say that the delivery wouldn't be here until later and they can't do anything without it, so they will be here after lunch.

After lunch: Matt and Paul show up but no delivery truck yet. Not to worry, Matt says that JD just talked to the lumber company and it's on its way. To kill time I tell them they can have the Subaru if they can get it out of the yard. They jump all over it (Matt's girlfriend needs a car) and find the keys and open the hood and get nowhere because the delivery truck pulls up. They take away the stuff we don't need and leave the new stuff and I have to pay for all the new stuff and they say they will credit me for what they took back. Damn right they will!

The guys get right to work for about 5 minutes when they discover that we have the wrong "ties" - we have "T" ties not "corner" ties. I call the company and all kinds of confusion begins. The original order was out of the Wells store. Today's order was out of the Sanford store. Neither store has what we need, they can get it by 7:30 tomorrow morning which is too late. The Augusta store has it but it's about 2 hours away, closes at 5 and it is now 3. Matt says not to worry, he will make this work without the corner ties. OK, Matt, work your magic! (I had better be credited for the useless "T" ties too!) I call JD. No answer. I leave a message about the situation.

So it doesn't look much different today than at the end of yesterday, tho they did work hard for a few hours. I call JD. No answer. I leave a message saying that Matt took care of the situation and not to worry about the corner ties, as long as I get credited for everything that was returned.

The wall day 3. I challenge you to find what's different in this picture from the above pic.

I noticed that the water pipe had no sleeve, so when they pour the concrete the pipe will be stuck there forever. The pipe that they kinked up and are supposed to move or replace. I call JD. No answer. I leave a message about the sleeve, or lack thereof.

Sleeveless! Where's the sleeve?!?!?!

Hopefully there will be less confusion and more construction tomorrow and perhaps I'll actually have some contact with JD. (Not that kind of contact!) Matt said he'd be here bright and early, so I'll be up to make the coffee.

Leave me a message. 0 messages left so far.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!