Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-31 - 11:02 p.m.

Foundation Elation

July 30/Friday

I got up at 7:30 and the tattoo van was already here. The first thing I did, after getting dressed and brushing hair and teeth, was to bring out the coffee, of course. By then Paul was here. He asked if anyone was interested in the car, and I said no, other than Matt. He told me that Matt said his girlfriend can't drive a stick shift so she didn't want it, and his father-in-law is a mechanic so he could take it and get it running. Great! It's all yours, Paul!

Sometime later, when Matt was here, I yelled out to Paul that Phil would be home around 3 and could do the paperwork for him. Matt yelled, "Okay." I was puzzled until Paul somewhat sadly said that Matt was still interested in the car.

I mentioned the sleeve to Matt, and another sleeve for the sump pump and he said JD had plans for all of that and he should be here around 8:30 after a quick trip to another job. I left at 10 and he wasn't here yet, so I left Matt with a check for the concrete and prayed that it all went well.

The boys and I picked up Zach and trekked up to Laconia for the day. We had lunch at Patrick's, a quick trip to Laconia Electric (which JD lead me to believe would be a wonderland of lights, but was actually fairly small and the showroom was being renovated), . . .

. . . a stop at the Lakeport/Opechee dam, . . .

. . . a lot of fun at Funspot (arcade games and mini-golf), . . .

. . . and more fun in the Weirs (ice cream, bumpercars, more arcade games).

A long but fun day!

I talked to Phil around 4 and he said that the concrete had been poured and the guys were gone before he got home at 3.

When we got home we saw that it was all true. Hooray!!!

We missed all the excitement but the foundation was done AND there were two sleeves where they should be. Except the pipe is still permanently in the foundation. I guess they will just cut it off while we're gone and put the new one through the sleeve. At least I hope that's what they will do.

The braces need to be stripped before the backfilling can begin. Backfilling has to be done before the framing can begin. Hopefully it will be done on Monday.

Leave me a message. 0 messages left so far.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!