Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-28 - 10:10 a.m.

Brick by Brick

July 27/Tuesday

8:00 and everyone's here! This is almost becoming a routine! The guys get right to stripping the footings.

It looks so naked!

The new-ish schedule: foundation forms today (and tomorrow morning if needed), inspection tomorrow afternoon, concrete Thursday, strip and waterproof foundation Friday, backfill Friday or Saturday, lumber delivered Monday, framing begins Monday or Tuesday.

. . .

Home from Todd's tutoring (which is going fine, the homework isn't exactly a joyride but the tutoring is fine). Pink and white foam boards are lying all around the outside of the maze. The guys are mixing some concrete in a wheelbarrow . . . Waitaminute! . . . WHAT? Yeah, that's what they're doing, alright. The footing (near where the concrete truck almost fell in) wasn't straight or something and "we" don't have to add more, but "we" are going to anyway.

I just heard one of the guys say "re-bar" - hooray! The re-bar come into play!

. . .

So these pink and white foam boards are actually two boards connected by some plastic cross pieces, and have sort of knobs on top and dents on the bottoms like Legos. So you slide/spread them apart and stack them and you can cut them to make them fit. There's some sort of corner contraption that you have to make.

. . .

Rex has taken to telling me which guys he "likes" - in a purely platonic, "as if they were toys or cartoon or video game characters" way. I think. Until this happens: I'm taking pictures of the foam stuff and . . .

Rex: Take a picture of the "red guy." (2 guys being shirtless, one having a red shirt)

Me - thinking: Oh isnt' that cute - "the red guy" - as if they aren't even real people. I'm gonna have to straighten him out about this soon.

Then the "red guy" takes off his shirt.

Me: Well now he's not the "red guy" anymore. I'll take a picture when he does something worth taking a picture of.

Rex: It's OK. I like it when he takes his shirt off.

Me - cringing

Rex: He has a golden chain.

Me - closing window, changing subject: I think it's lunchtime.

"Hi! I'm Red Guy!"

. . .

The boys and I ran out to do errands and get ice cream at DQ We got home around 5 and JD and Matt (the "lead guy") were still here. I guess someone made some "boo boos" (JD's term) with the Legos and had to fix them. Good thing we're working with Legos! So the wall looked more than 1/2 done by the time he left. Tomorrow they will finish it and build supports around it. Then comes the inspection!

I actually took this the next morning. Look Red Guy is still red!

Leave me a message. 0 messages left so far.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!