Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-05 - 11:19 p.m.

Time Stands Still

August 5/Thursday

So, it's been about a week and this is my only entry. Can you guess why? If you guessed that nothing has happened here you would be correct! OK, a tiny little bit has happened. Here it is:

Yep. That's it. The supports were stripped off and the waterproofing stuff (I think it's really driveway sealer) was put on. That was Monday morning and other than JD stopping by to answer questions before we go away, oh yeah, and pick up another check for $8K (2nd month = 2nd installment), we haven't seen a worker guy since. And JD was SUPPOSED to come back this afternoon to install the door that was delivered this morning. We (= me) moved furniture, we (= Phil) took out the window (and later replaced it), we (= 90% me) emptied the kitchen and filled the living room with boxes of kitchen and dining room stuff. Here is our new "kitchen" for the next couple/few/+/- months.

All the modern amenities: microwave, toaster oven, hot plate . . . er, I mean "stove", coffee maker, and fridge. It will have a "laundry room type sink" near the doorway, and we can also cook on the gas grill. (Which will be easier when we HAVE A DOOR to walk through instead of a window to crawl through!)

We hope to get the door in tomorrow so we can move the pullout couch to the living room where the boxes are, and the futon to the den where the couch is, so I can move the boxes to where the futon is now - a vicious cycle if ever there was one.

Zach will be staying here on and off while we are gone, we will be staying here on and off while we are gone (sounds impossible, but it will happen), and friends and neighbors will be checking in on the progress. I've instructed Zach in the intricacies of using my digital camera so he can post pictures for us and you to see while we're gone. He will be horsewhipped (or forced to rub his face in Tikki's neck) if he does not comply. I'm not yet sure how I think I will be seeing these photos, but that is not the point. Giving him a nearly impossible task so we can make him rub his face in Tikki's neck is the point. (Oh man. She just walked next to me and shook her head/neck region and then walked away as I started to lose consciousness from the fumes emitted. Thanks, Tikki!)

Happy Vacation! (Let's hope!)

Leave me a message. 0 messages left so far.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!