Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-21 - 8:15 p.m.

Body Piercings A'plenty

July 21/Wednesday

So, it turns out that the dirt maze was done on Thursday and the only change between then and now is the missing "big" rig. The water company is not moving the pipe, "my" guys have to move it but the water company has to come shut off the water and come back to turn it on again. That should be a fun day!

JD and another guy came here to make forms for the footings which need to be built and filled by the time the inspector comes tomorrow. Our first inspection - wish us luck! I heard a couple hammerings then nothing for a while. I look out and there's no one here. Oooookaaaay . . . maybe they're off buying more lumber . . . or something. I look out a bit later and there are two different guys here moving the lumber (that was already here) around the maze. The truck they came in is parked right out front. Which, you know, is no big deal, they have to park SOMEWHERE, right? Yeah, 'cept the truck they came in has advertising all over it. You know, like many servicemen/craftsmen have on their trucks. Except the advertising on this truck is for CUSTOM TATTOOING AND BODY PIERCING. So now all my neighbors think I'm spending my building loan on having myself covered head to toe in tattoos and piercings. Won't they be disappointed when I look the same.

You thought I was kidding?

The head count is 3 guys now. Maybe the first guy never left - just hid for a little while. I just looked out and saw one of them sitting in the "window" of the "garage" and another just standing in the garage stretching and chewing gum. Couldn't see the 3rd one but I bet he was doing something equally useful. Maybe it was "break time" but I don't think they earned a break yet, considering that the first guy was here at 8:30ish and just stood there talking to his wife and baby (who were dropping him off). JD showed up eventually (and wife and baby left), walked around with the guy, took the supports out of the "garage" (the hammering sounds I had heard) and disappeared, and at some point after that (10ish?) the body art guys got here. Right now they are setting up some GPS/laser level/crazy surveying looking thing, and it's taking forever!

It has a pendulum hanging from the bottom, maybe they can use it to do some more divination!

One is walking around with a level, one is walking around with a roll of pink string, and the other is gently tapping the feet of the "instrument" into the ground.

Eventually JD comes back and gets things moving. I think they were having trouble with the thingamajiggy, but now it's all set up and they can start making the forms for the footings. I'm pretty sure that there will be no pouring of concrete today, so I'm not sure what the inspector will have to inspect tomorrow. Oh well, I'm not the one who has to deal with him. Or am I?

Well, now it's nearly 5:00 and they are still working (which is good since they didn't really get here "on time"). I feel a little bad for them cuz they had to hand dig a 2' x 18' x 2' area that the excavator had dug in the wrong place. I think (*hope*) that all they have to do now is close up the footing form, but they are kinda standing around looking at stuff and measuring things. Not a good sign.

They hand dug the space to the left of the single board, the excavator had dug the space to the right.

Now it's 8:00, we're home from dinner on the beach, and nothing is any different from when we left, so I guess they left as soon as we were gone. Tomorrow should be interesting . . . IF anyone shows up!

Leave me a message. 0 messages left so far.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!