Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-22 - 11:31 p.m.

Raindrops are falling in my basement . . .

July 22/Thursday

8:00 am - the guys are here. Hooray! Someone showed up for work before 9:30!

8:30 - Yay! The missing piece is no longer missing.

10:30 - They all left. Where did they go? Where's the concrete? What about the inspection? Gah!

10:45 - He must have sensed me freaking out, cuz JD showed up right before getting an uncomfortable phone call from me. (Yeah, I didn't have to make it so we can pretend that I would have if he hadn't shown up.) The guys have done all they can do before the inspection. Apparently, in York at least, when they inspect footings they only care about the footing forms, not the actual concrete part. So, sometime today the inspector will be by to check out the forms. The concrete won't be here until Monday (10ish) so that if the inspector has any problems with the forms JD will have time to fix them and get them re-inspected tomorrow. He hopes to have the foundation forms up, inspected, and maybe poured by the end of next week, and start framing the week after that. FRAMING! Can you believe it?!!? OK, I'm getting way to excited and way too ahead of things here. Let's just prepare for celebrating footings and maybe foundations next week.

1:30 - JD comes back to talk about doors and such. I guess the inspection happened earlier in the morning while the guys were still here and it's good to go! So nothing happens tomorrow, but Monday should be exciting. As exciting as concrete can be.

Did I mention the leaking pipe? No? Huh. Well the pipe that "feeds" the hot water heater is now leaking all over my laundry (possibly due to the jackhammering). So I have to re-wash a bunch of laundry. Do we all know how much I LOVE to do laundry? Well, in case we don't I will give you a hint as to how I feel about it. I hate it with the white hot intensity of 1000 suns, to say the least. I hate it more than I hate . . . hmmm . . . fish flavored foods, including but not limited to fish itself. There. I said it. I would rather eat fish than do laundry. (Please don't test me on it!) I'm hoping that the majority of this hatred stems from the fact that I have to endure the peril of going down rickety the cellar stairs, into the rank and stank-y basement full of the webs of my greatest foe (next to clowns) - SPIDERS! I will never get away from laundry itself but to be able to do the laundry in a nicer environment might not be quite the torture that it is now. Let's hope!

Sorry - no pictures today :(

Leave me a message. 0 messages left so far.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!