Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-04 - 4:49 p.m.

I Love the Smell of Plywood in the Morning

August 25 thru September 4

My apologies for not updating sooner. Hard to believe but I've had almost nothing to complain about, so I have plenty of pictures and not a lot to say.

Once framing started we had a large crew (it fluctuated slightly day to day, but anywhere from 4 to 10 guys) and an actual schedule - they start at 8 and they go home at 5 (5ish - earlier if JD isn't here, later if he is).

The view with walls framed.

Looking toward the kitchen from the new upstairs.

It's starting to look like a house. Can you believe it?

The garage.

From here it looks bigger than the original house.

Phil enjoying the view from the family room.

The old kitchen wall - don't get used to it.

"Welcome to McPhil's. May I take your order?"

The shed now has new windows!

Our temporary kitchen wall.

What's behind Curtain Number One?

"Tear down the wall!" - Pink Floyd [That's the old kitchen window (where I used to take "the view" pictures) leaning against the wall in the back.]

That's what's behind Curtain Number One? I'd rather have the donkey!

From the front.

The guys were cutting into the eaves over the remaining kitchen and found a huge paper wasp nest. One guy was stung on the face - really his fault for taking so long to realize that he should stop cutting the nest. Lucky for me I didn't encounter that nest when I was emptying out the eaves the week before!

I got out of bed at around 9 on Saturday morning of Labor Day weekend and there were two guys here working! Unbelievable! I went out there all bleary eyed and said, "Isn't today Saturday? Of Labor Day weekend? Did the slave driver send you?" They apologized for waking me up (which they didn't do, but the sound of the saw is what got me motivated), and said they chose to come in but wouldn't be here on Monday. They must be broke or have �ber-bitchy wives that they were hiding from. They worked until lunch time and went home, but who can complain about that?

I will update again when things look different enough to post pictures, or when I have something to complain about.

Leave me a message. 0 messages left so far.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!